Sacraments of Faith

Christians who are not Protestant (nor non-denominational) recognize that Jesus gave his Church seven Sacraments. In order to help understand them, they are broken down into three main categories. Those categories are listed below with a link to that Sacrament’s particular page:

Sacraments of Initiation

Sacrament of Baptism
Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit, and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Learn More…

Jesus instituted the Eucharist at the Last Supper, a Passover Meal. The word Eucharist comes from a Greek word meaning “to give thanks”.   The Eucharist, sometimes called Holy Communion or The Lord’s Supper, is the heart of our Catholic faith. Learn More…


Sacraments of Healing

Those who approach the sacrament of Penance obtain pardon from God’s mercy for the offense committed against him, and are, at the same time, reconciled with the Church which they have wounded by their sins and which by charity, by example, and by prayer labors for their conversion. Learn More…

Anointing of the Sick
The sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick is a sign of the Lord’s care and the Church’s concern for her sick or weakened members. It reaffirms the human dignity of all people and is not only a sign of life in the Church but also the continuation of the healing ministry of Jesus Christ Himself.  Learn More…

Sacraments of Living


Holy Orders
Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. Learn More…